New Girl

Today I died
A little inside
While you went on your way
Oblivious to my plight
And in my mind I wonder
If you ever need me at all
Or were you just trying to find
Pieces of her in me that fall
But it doesn’t matter now
At least for you I guess
Because I saw the new girl smiling
And the way you smiled back
Do you remember the times when
We were actors in the same scene
Now we go our separate ways
Strangers who advanced way too swift
Though I’m acutely aware
The feelings are still there
I rest my case
All the rumors I’ll lone bear
Because I’m sure you can find
What you were searching for
All the quirks you found fault
Absent from her

– a.h.

Leave a Reply

