Song of Longing

I tried to recreate the notes
I hear whenever I’m with you
But nothing ever comes close
To when you came to my rescue
And although it was joyful music
I wanted to play
It came out all wrong
Tunes that went astray
Can you hear the beating of my grieving heart
The heavy footsteps it takes
Or the music of my broken body
How it sways in heartache
Exhausting the black and white keys
Make my fingers sore and strained
But never more than the pain
Deep down in my veins

– a.h.

Leave a Reply

