Escape

|| Verb ||

Drink up and pull your blankets close

I’ll rock you like mothers do when it is dark

The things that creak in the corners

Don’t fear I’ll kill them before they leave a mark

Drink up again and pull your blankets tight

My lullaby will sing the monsters playing hide and seek to sleep

Make your dreams of flying come true

So that you never have to be afraid of falling too deep

Drink up one last time and pull your blankets over your head

I’ll offer you escape my wounded child

Bend to my will and I’ll help you sleep

You won’t walk alone in a sea so wild

– a.h.

________________________________________________________

“Drink up with me now and forget all about the pressure of days. Do what I say, and I’ll make you okay.” – Between The Bars, Elliot Smith

Leave a Reply

