A Change Of Heart

“Move forward,” they said. “The only progress you will see is when you move forward.” So I took a step, then two, and three. The first step was shaky, the earth was trembling. The second step a little stronger, but I felt something give behind me. The third step and I was flying, it gave me wings I swear. But when I looked back, those cheering for me at the starting line was no longer there. In this big, vast abyss I had to walk through, it was the first time I felt utterly alone. “Move forward,” they said. I didn’t want to. I wanted to stay rooted to where I stood. “The only progress you will see is when you move forward.” But why then do I feel as though the more I pushed forward, the more I lost?

– a.h.

________________________________________________________

They all said I’ve changed, but I’ve never felt more myself than I am now. They can’t accept it though. They wanted the old me. I told them I can’t and they left — without a look back.

But it’s okay because I have not yet lost track of myself.


Leave a Reply

