Love’s Fool

The first was always the sweetest

Wrapping my virgin heart

In loathsome honeyed blasphemies

Before bulldozing it apart

The second and third and subsequent loves

Were devils in disguise

My feelings like an insolent child

Just will not learn from those lies

No longer as naive and as wielding

I now know not to trust

In sappy movies and fairytale books

About the kind of love that will last

I once thought life to be a one-way ticket to love

But I was wrong

Always standing outside love’s gates

I will never and never will belong

– a.h.

________________________________________________________

Anybody a huge How I Met Your Mother fan? I’m pretty sure Ted shared the same sentiments halfway through the show. 

” How come all love has to end? ” – Little Manhattan

Leave a Reply

