Speed

|| Noun ||

I found out a couple of things at the age of 10:

1. Butterflies can exist inside of you and the boy next door sets them flying every single time you see his face.

2. If you want something, you should act like you do. Act fast, act now. So I did with the boy next door, kissed him before I chickened out and grabbed his hand and said, “Dibs on you, you are now my boyfriend!”

3. Speed is not only a requirement in the boundaries of relationships, it is also needed when you make decisions. Especially life-choices, like whether spending the 50 cents your mother gave you on ice-cream is worth the feeling of bankruptcy before the ice-cream truck drives away.

It became my principle to always think fast and my personal vendetta to outdo every single one of those thoughts that asked for me to slow down. Quick to take the first step, quick to rat on backstabbing friends. Quick to make investments, quick to earn my first million. Quick to fall in love, quick to get married. My life was a long, systematic series of encounter, decide, succeed.

Nobody told me the faster I made judgements, the faster I was ruled guilty. The things I learned at 10 don’t seem to apply anymore and just because you want something, doesn’t mean you will get to enjoy the ride. I got the boy next door, but my first kiss was just that: a first kiss. I ate the peppermint chocolate I saw, but it certainly didn’t taste as nice as I had imagined. I had my revenge on those lying friends, but years later found out they had inexplicable reasons for doing so. I earned my first million younger than anybody I knew, but lost it in the blink of an eye to one bad investment. I found the one I wanted to spend the rest of my life with, but discovered differences I couldn’t live with. Just like that, it regrettably became a long, systematic series of encounter, decide, lose.

If you ever have the choice, enjoy the ride. In more cases than less, speed only serves as an obstacle in disguise.

– a.h.

________________________________________________________

It doesn’t hurt once in a while to change your running shoes into something more comfortable. We often hurry because we were taught the consequences of lagging behind, but the taste of slow victory can be a whole lot sweeter.

” It is a mistake to think that moving fast is the same as actually going somewhere. ” – Steve Goodier

Leave a Reply

