Damsel In Distress

My mother always read to me

As I lay in bed

She left me dreams of carriages

And white knights in my sleep

I grew up waiting

For boys to sweep me off my feet

A few did

But the falls were hard and deep

It always ends

No matter the time and date

But they aren’t to take the blame

For it was Love which gave up halfway

That was the moment I gave up

Waiting for my white knight’s arrival

I don’t want to be saved —

I rather be my own damsel in distress instead

– a.h.

________________________________________________________

It’s a cruel, cruel world indeed. That the person you love and the person whom loves you aren’t always the same.

” Never rearrange your life in order to meet Mr. Darcy half way. If he couldn’t see your worth at the moment you met then he won’t two years later. May the halls of Pemberly be filled with his regrets and your life filled with thankfulness because of this revelation. ” – Shannon L. Alder

Leave a Reply

