Glass Walls

I once met a girl

She hugged me after every lesson I teach

She smiled through that open shutters of her eyes

She said, “See you again next week.”

How naive her hugs are;

I wished for a second I could gain back all that I’ve lost:

To hug another without feeling the urge to pull back

To promise another my presence

Without the word being lodged in my throat;

Like broken-winged birds

Who have seen too much,

The masters of their own imprisonment

Unable to break through those invisible glass cages.

I once was a girl

Who hugged and smiled honestly,

Where my face was once an open book,

It’s pages wide open for others to read.

Now I hugged and pulled back from the girl

Whom hugged me after every lesson I teach,

She said, “See you again next week.”

I said, ” Sure. ”

– a.h.

________________________________________________________

My mind wanders to when we met once again in those four walls, where there was a class ongoing next door and the whole room devoid of any other except us. How easily I could have replied with that simple ‘hello’; how easily I could have fallen back into that comfort I had associated it’s every corner with you. 

But that moment which could have so easily been a pivotal point, reverted itself back to the set point as I smiled wistfully and left that greeting you gave, build a wall through the silence I returned. As though we are and have always been strangers.

” The more you love someone, he came to think, the harder it is to tell them. It surprised him that strangers didn’t stop each other on the street to say I love you. ” – Everything Is Illuminated, Jonathan Safran Foer

Leave a Reply

