The Ex

There was a maze;

I ran my fingers through the frizzled edges

I thought of dwindled nutshells

And the aftertaste of your presence.

There was a maze;

I ran past the scattered drawings

I thought of our conundrum

Which had no focal point and set my mind in chaos.

There was a maze;

I got blocked no matter where I go

I thought of the collisions which we’d bounce off

Seemingly elastic, as though pain never felt more numb.

There was a maze;

I cannot find the entrance nor the exit.

I’m entrenched in this lybrinth of guilt and anger

We’re back where we started in spite.

Again.

– a.h.

________________________________________________________

It would take me a lifetime to accept, the hurtful and inconsiderate things you have uttered to third parties who could only gain a bias view of what really happened between you and me. I keep mum, not because out of guilt but out of choice. 

Should I defend myself against your narrow accusations? In truth, I do not know what to do. 

” Friendship plants itself as a small unobtrusive seed; over time, it grows thick roots that wrap around your heart. When a love affair ends, the tree is torn out quickly, the operation painful but clean. Friendship withers quietly, there is always hope of revival. Only after time has passed do you recognise that it is dead, and you are left, for years afterwards, pulling dry brown fibres from your chest. ” – Girl in the Dark, Anna Lyndsey

Pull the weed straight from the roots and burn that bridge down, or flourish it with care in hope that the weed may learn to love me back?

Leave a Reply

