Reminiscing

|| Verb ||

There once lived a boy who broke my heart; free-spirited and wild but grounded by his roots  — he was everything a girl wanted.

To the friends who wanted to hear what I had to say about him: Sadness is no longer in my book and I do not care for a life with him at all anymore.  From now on, my chapters will be through rosy lenses and the self-indulgence I used to possess that enabled me to love and treat myself with repect.

You may say that I am merely distracting myself by throwing myself head first into the tirade of school life. “Ah,” I’ll say, “I feel grievances and with it a certain kind of regret, but they only surface during pivotal points on certain days and disappear back into the past where they belong.”

They are the sort of sadness where I go, ‘It hurts because I have to get used to being a stranger around him but I have to hurt for me to get past it and someday, I’ll forget the boy who took my bearings and never returned them.’ They no longer govern my behaviour and my mood but rather, allowed me to understand why I’ve come so far and the reason for my every step forward.

Therefore I will allow myself to feel sad. For joy is the successor of sadness and someday I swear, the happiness I will feel will be truer than before.

– a.h. 

__________________________

Allow yourself to cry and to break before mending and healing. But always forgive, to be soft towards the ones you love regardless of their degree of love towards yourself. You will then no longer look back and be able to let go, leaving the things that broke you in the past where they truly belong.

” You can’t spend the rest of your life being afraid of people rejecting you, and you have to start by not rejecting yourself, you don’t deserve it.  From now on, people can either accept you for who you are or to hell they can fuck off. “

Leave a Reply

