The Downsides of Growing Up

I used to ask grandad

Why people smile lesser as they age,

He merely smiled and showed his two teeth;

He said I’ll find out when time slows to a tick.

Now I walk by with my heavy wishes,

Passing little children with dripping ice-creams

Running like there’s no tomorrow in their book of make believes,

As I wonder what a new dawn may bring.

Life is a mere waiting

From this hour to the next,

When my grandad left my side,

I wanted to let him know that I see.

That as one grows older we notice

The things that make us scream,

We learn to feel happy only if

There is something to make us be.

We no longer put things down

As easily as we used to dry our tears,

Because when life takes a hit

(and they almost always do)

We turn our wishes on a candle into far-fetched dreams.

I guess as a kid the world is much simpler:

Only ice-creams and peaceful sleep,

They wait for the next hour;

We wait for the next hit.

– a.h.

_________________________________________________________________

Was doing some work when I heard laughter some distance away from my table before I realised it was a couple of 5 year olds running about and playing with water. Looking at their carefree faces, I wonder when was the last time I ran about without a single worry in my mind. It’s kind of sad that we find lesser things to smile for as we grow older; why is that so?

” When we are children we seldom think of the future. This innocence leaves us free to enjoy ourselves as few adults can. The day we fret about the future is the day we leave our childhood behind. ” – The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss

Leave a Reply

