Screaming

|| Verb ||

perhaps when you said you didn’t love me.

you didn’t know the nights stayed awake.

with a racing heart and sweating palms.

praying for somebody, anybody, to pick me up.

perhaps when you said you didn’t love me.

you didn’t know the shields i placed up for you.

with every lie tumbling out of my mouth.

building a fortress for you away from my friends.

perhaps when you said you didn’t love me.

you didn’t know the wandering eyes i tossed for you.

among a sea of fishes searching for just one.

hoping i can catch only a glance of what could have been.

perhaps when you said you didn’t love me.

you didn’t know the times i screamed for you across the room.

as though my internal hurricane can once again.

sweep you off your feet.

perhaps when you said you didn’t love me.

you didn’t know the after dusks etched into my brain.

and the countless words i matched up to form poetry just for you.

and how screamed for you not just everywhere but also in here.

and how every minuscule, lower cased alphabet is screaming.

just for you.

– a.h.

_________________________________________________________________

One may not look like he’s hurting, but believe me, one’s ability to hide it far outweighs another’s superficial eyes. 

Oh, one may never know the truth. 

” Don’t wanna know if you’re looking into her eyes. If she’s holding onto you so tight the way I did before. I overdosed, should’ve known your love was a game. Now I can’t get you out of my brain, oh it’s such a shame. ” – We Don’t Talk Anymore, Charlie Puth ft. Selena Gomez


Leave a Reply

