Things I May Tell You Next Time

Like the world wars I thought to negotiate 

In hopes of a ceasefire where nobody was taught the theories of peace

And retracting our attitudes today

For compromise and altruism. For stability and rock hard loyalty tomorrow

But some deals cannot be striked nor negotiations be  win-win

With each moment I may think, I only round back to this moment

Sneaking a bomb seemed much like mine’s indifference to the life of your soul

Yet I’m cornered to take this vice that grows and grows from the root

And so things I may tell you next time I see you:

Situations can turn out to be zero-sum games

And to save both we must first reconstruct one

So that I can tell you now my body stands a little straighter;

My steps a little more spring as I walk further;

My songs a little happier in tune

– a.h.

______________________________

To salvage a relationship, we must sometimes harden ourselves to be selfish so that both parties can gain their happiness in the future. 

” Who wants to die? Everything struggles to live. Look at that tree growing up there out of that grating. It gets no sun, and water only when it rains. It’s growing out of sour earth. And it’s strong because its hard struggle to live is making it strong. My children will be strong that way. ” – A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Betty Smith

Leave a Reply

